Earth Month Challenge: Day 1

Today was a very successful one, and a great start to my Earth Month Challenge. 

I started the day off making a number of things from scratch. The first item I tackled was granola, made using an adapted recipe from The Homemade Pantry by Alana Chernila. I highly recommend the book if you ever wanted to try your hand at making yogurt, cheese, or other common treats we tend to buy prepared from the store. 

I then whipped up some chocolate chip oatmeal black walnut cookies made with black walnuts I harvested last year. Yum!

All the baking got me hungry so I stopped for a lunch of Turkey Noodle Soup. I unfortunately don’t have a recipe for the soup as I make it from whatever I have on hand. This particular soup was made from our Christmas turkey and veggie scraps I had stored up in my freezer, as well as some fresh carrots, onions, and celery. I added in some alphabet pasta for a little whimsy. I will usually freeze a few mason jars’ worth whenever I make soup so that I don’t have to eat it for every meal until I was done. I can then put a jar in the fridge to defrost overnight and I have an easy, homemade meal waiting for me!

I also got a little sewing done today, including making a few wet bags for my cloth diaper storage from a larger wet bag I wasn’t using, and making some more baby wipes out of flannel receiving blankets which I was gifted from my Buy Nothing Facebook group. 

I was also able to gift a number of things to my Buy Nothing group

I asked a friend to teach me how to needle felt as I saw some amazing little woodland creatures she made for her son. 

I also saved a few plastic bags from the trash for future use, limited by driving today, and used my cloth bags for groceries today. 

All in all I think it was a great start!

Leave a Reply

