Homemade Foaming Hand Soap


Although the foaming soap dispensers tend to last a lot longer than the regular ones, it can still get a little pricey to buy them regularly depending on what brand. You also can generate a lot of plastic waste buying a new bottle every time, and some of the products may not be the best for your body or your health. Because of this I decided to try my hand at making my own foaming hand soap. We’ve been using this same one for 3 years now and it’s working out great. Best of all it uses the same ingredients as my household cleaning products plus an item or two from my kitchen, so the only thing I needed to get was a foaming dispenser. 

I found a porcelain/metal foaming soap dispenser at Winners, but may have been able to source one from a neighbour if I had wanted to reuse a plastic one. I only have to refill it every 3 months or so, so it takes very little work make. 

Ingredients

1 cup water

1 tbsp liquid castile soap

1/2 tsp olive oil (optional but moisturizing…may gum up your dispenser so caution!)

10-20 drops of essential oil of choice (optional)

Foaming hand soap dispenser

Directions

Add ingredients to measuring cup and whisk to combine. Pour into foaming dispenser. Use and enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

