Super Green Smoothie: Save Money, Eat Well

What would St. Patty’s Day be without a festive green beverage? This one may just be a little healthier than the one you’re imagining 🙂

Ever buy a bag or container of salad greens and find that they go funky before you’re done eating them? I’m super sensitive to the freshness of my greens, so if they’re not day old fresh I have trouble enjoing my salad. Because of this I have started adding them to my smoothies. The benefit is two-fold: I have a healthier smoothie with all the nutrients of greens enjoyed for breakfast (just in case I don’t get them in later!), and I don’t waste as much food, saving myself money. I’ll often use a frozen or past-its-prime banana as well and enjoy the added sweetness from the ripe fruit.

Ingredients: 

1 fresh or frozen banana, peeled

3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup water (+/- depending on the thickness of the smoothie you enjoy and the amount of greens used)

2 tbsp peanut butter

1 scoop protein powder (optional)

3 cups spinach, kale or other green (or however much you can cram into your blender and have leftover)

Directions:

Blend above ingredients and enjoy. Its a delicious, nutrient-rich beverage to start your day, or a great after-workout snack. 

Leave a Reply

