Homemade Sports Drink

I was doing a great deal of cycling last year, from commuting 25km each way to work, to long rides with friends. When out exercising or riding >90min I make sure to have a sports drink on me. I’m not a big fan of gels or tablets or other commercial beverages, from a flavour and digestion standpoint but also from a “I don’t really understand what’s in them” position. As such, I like to make my own. My favourite sports drink has to be from Nancy Clark’s Sports Nutrition Guidebook. 

Ingredients:

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup hot water 

1/4 cup OJ

2 tbsp lemon juice

3 1/2 cups water

Directions: I make this mix in a 32 oz nalgene or a large measuring cup (32oz +) for ease. Add the sugar and salt to a large measuring cup and add hot water. You can use boiling water but I just get it hot enough to dissolve the sugars. Stir to dissolve the salt and sugar. Then add the OJ, lemon juice and pour into the nalgene. Add water to fill the bottle. This gets you approximately 32 oz of sports drink, or 200 kcal, a great amount for your ride. I usually fill one of my cycling bottles with this mix and carry an extra bottle of water, alternating between the two depending on how I’m feeling or the length of my ride.

Nutrition information: (per 8 ounces) 50 calories; 12 g carbohydrate; 110 mg sodium

Leave a Reply

